The Daily News Of Open Water Swimming

To educate, entertain, and enthuse those who venture beyond the shore


Random News

Who’s Who In Windsor At Hall Of Fame Ceremonies

Courtesy of Ned Denison, International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

The 2017 International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame induction ceremony was held in a beautiful converted Chapel in Windsor, UK last month. The total attendance of 88 included the largest gathering of honorees (24) plus official representatives from 7 Honor Organizations.

Ned Denison described, “They came from Australia, California and Brazil. Friends reunited and new friendships were formed. Attendees met their heroes and that included many Honorees meeting their heroes. Stories were told and old lessons passed along during the drinks reception.

The next morning 38 attended the IMSHOF Congress where most of the discussion centered around the use of wetsuits and compression suits in the sport.

Upper photo front row left to right include Graham & Margaret Smith (British Long Distance Swimming Association and British Honoree of 2002), Ned Denison (Irish Honoree of 2012), Beth Yudovin – IMSHOF Executive Committee. Kneeling left to right Tamara Bruce (Australian Honoree of 2017), Stephen Millar (representative of the Irish Long Distance Swimming Association and Irish Honoree of 2012). Standing left to right Merv Sharp (British Honoree of 2006), Ricardo Ratto (Brazilian Honoree of 2017), David O’Brien (Australian Honoree of 2017), Dr. Jane Katz (American Honoree of 2014), Nick Adams (British Honoree of 2013), Roger Parsons (British Honoree of 1997), Valerie Parsons (British Honoree of 1990), Vojislav Mijić (Serbian Honoree of 2014), John York (American Honoree of 1989), Irene van der Laan (Dutch Honoree of 1985), Colin Hill (British Honoree of 2017), Carol Sing (American Honoree of 2000), Jacques Tuset (IMSHOF Voter), Dr. Chris Stockdale, MBE (British Honoree of 1991), Ger Carty (Irish Long Distance Swimming Association and Irish Honoree of 2012), Richard Broer (Dutch Honoree of 2017), Sally Minty-Gravett, MBE (British Honoree of 2005), John Pittman (American Honoree of 2017), Christopher Guesdon (Australian Honoree of 2009), Partial view of Forrest Nelson (American Honoree of 2015), Dale Petranech (American Honoree of 1995), Michael Read, MBE (British Honoree of 1978), Stephen Redmond (Irish Honoree of 2017), Captain Tim Johnson (American Honoree of 2006), David Barra (American Honoree of 2017), and Kathrin Lammers (IMSHOF Voter) taking photo.

Copyright © 2008-2017 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top