The Daily News Of Open Water Swimming

To educate, entertain, and enthuse those who venture beyond the shore


Random News

Passing The Baton

>Alex Meyer
was awarded the top open water swimming award by USA Swimming at its recent annual convention. Alex received the recently renamed award, the Fran Crippen Memorial Male Open Water Swimmer of the Year Award.

The award was established in 1984 and annually presented to USA Swimming’s most outstanding open water swimmer. This year, the name of the award was changed to the Fran Crippen Memorial Male Open Water Swimmer of the Year as a permanent honor for the 2007, 2009, and 2010 winner who died tragically in a FINA World Cup event in Dubai.

Alex, one of Fran’s close friends and teammate, was selected due to his fourth place finish (and Olympic 10km Marathon Swim qualification) at the 2011 FINA World Swimming Championship 10K, his victory at the USA Swimming 10K Open Water Swimming Championships and his participation in the Fran Crippen SafeSwim International 10K (19th) and the London 10km International Marathon Swim Invitational (7th) in 2011.

Copyright © 2011 by Open Water Source

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top