The Daily News Of Open Water Swimming

To educate, entertain, and enthuse those who venture beyond the shore


Random News

Damián Blaum, Alice Franco Win 50th Capri-Napoli

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

In 1949 Aldo Fioravanti and Cesare Alfieri became the first people to swim from the Island of Capri to Napoli in Italy.

Their crossing took 12 hours and was soon transformed to the Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli that has served as world championship races and a traditional stop on the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix circuit.

Today, Damián Blaum of Argentina and Alice Franco of Italy won the 50th edition of the 36 km race.

Blaum beat Evgenij Pop Acev* of Macedonia and Simone Ercoli of Italy while Franco beat Pilar Geijo of Argentina and Esther Nunez of Spain.

1 Damian Blaum (Argentina) 6:22:13
2 Evgenij Pop Acev (Macedonia) 6:22:16
3 Simone Ercoli (Italy) 6:22:20
4 Edoardo Stochino (Italy) 6:22:23
5 Matheus Evangelista (Brazil) 6:22:25
6 Alexander Studzinski (Germany) 6:22:33
7 Bertrand Venturi (France) 6:24:12
8 Xavier Desharnais (Canada) 6:27:07
9 Alice Franco (Italy) 6:29:54 1st woman
10 Pilar Geijo (Argentina) 6:35:17 2nd woman
11 Alexander Ilievski (Macedonia) 6:40:49
12 Samir Barel (Brazil) 6:43:27
13 Esther Nunez (Spain) 6:43:31 3rd woman
14 Vit Ingeduld (Czech Republic) 6:43:53
15 Anna Mankevich (Russia) 6:45:56 4th woman
16 Gabriele Maria Mento (Italy) 6:54:43
17 Vicenia Navarro (Venezuela) 7:03:56 5th woman
18 Aquiles Balaudo (Argentina) 7:05:39
19 Dina Levacic (Croatia) 7:09:24 6th woman
20 Vanesa Garcia (Argentina) 7:36:08 7th woman
21 Elena Lionello (Italy) 7:38:17 8th woman
22 Victoria Mori (Argentina) 7:49:53 9th woman
OTL Fernando Ciaramella (Argentina)
DNF Tomi Stefanovski (Macedonia)
DNF Mattia Ferru (Italy)
DNF Fabiana Lamberti (Italy)
DNS Mohamed Saleh (Syria)
DNS Nicoleta Simonazzi (Italy)

* according to our unofficial estimates, Acev is likely crowned the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix title winner in 2015 while Geijo will likely be crowned the women’s title winner, her fourth over the last six year.

Copyright © 2015 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top