The Daily News Of Open Water Swimming

To educate, entertain, and enthuse those who venture beyond the shore


Random News

Breakfast With Champions In Santa Fe

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

A unique reunion occurred in Santa Fe, Argentina when Damián Blaum and his wife and two-time winner Esther Nuñez Morera met with four other overall winners of the 57 km Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fé – Coronda: Carlos Larriera, Diego Degano, Fernando Fleitas, and Rafael Pérez in a Breakfast of Champions.

The historical winners include the following athletes:

1961 Carlos Larriera, Argentina
1962 Carlos Larriera, Argentina
1963 Herman Willemse, Netherlands
1964 Abdul Latif Abou Heif, Egypt
1965 Horacio Iglesias, Argentina
1966 Giuglio Travaglio, Italy
1967 Horacio Iglesias, Argentina
1970 Horacio Iglesias, Argentina
1974 Claudio Plit, Argentina
1975 Claudio Plit, Argentina
1976 Claudio Plit, Argentina
1977 Claudio Plit, Argentina
1978 John Kinsella, USA
1979 Bill Heiss, USA
1987 James Kegley, USA
1988 Diego Degano, Argentina
1990 Diego Degano, Argentina
1991 Fernando Fleitas, Argentina
1992 Diego Degano, Argentina
1993 Diego Degano, Argentina / Christof Wandratsch, Germany
1994 Gregory Streppel, Canada
1995 Gregory Streppel, Canada
1996 Stéphane Lecat, France / Gabriel Chaillou, Argentina
1997 Stéphane Lecat, France
1998 David Meca Medina, Spain
1999 Stéphane Lecat, France
2000 Stéphane Lecat, France
2001 David Meca Medina, Spain
2002 Gabriel Chaillou, Argentina
2003 Rafael Pérez, Argentina
2004 Stephane Gómez, France
2005 Stephane Gómez, France
2006 Petar Stoychev, Bulgaria
2007 Petar Stoychev, Bulgaria
2008 Petar Stoychev, Bulgaria
2009 Petar Stoychev, Bulgaria
2010 Petar Stoychev, Bulgaria
2011 Petar Stoychev, Bulgaria
2012 Joanes Hedel, France
2013 Simone Ercoli, Italy
2014 Simone Ercoli, Italy
2017 Damián Blaum, Argentina

Copyright © 2008-2017 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top