The Daily News Of Open Water Swimming

To educate, entertain, and enthuse those who venture beyond the shore


Random News

Vastly Underestimating Capabilities, Learning How To Fish

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Well-known open water swimmers, physicians and personalities have given TED Talks around the world over the years

Ocean advocate Lewis Pugh, motivational speaker Diana Nyad, Olympic champion Maarten van der Weijden, swimming coach and hydro therapist Ori Sela, butterflyer and coach Vicki Keith, physician and thought leader Peter Attia, author and podcaster Tim Ferriss, reseacher scientist Angel Yanagihara, adventurer and mountaineer Maria Conceicao, researcher and scientist Tim Noakes, author and thought leader Wallace J. Nichols, author Lynne Cox, Oceans Seven swimmer Kimberley Chambers, Olympic champion Dana Vollmer, and freediver Guillaume Néry are among the swimming Tedsters.

Craig Dietz, known as the Limbless Waterman, talked about his 2011 Great Chesapeake Bay Swim in his TED Talk. This year, Dietz completed his first marathon swim when he finished the Kingdom Swim in Lake Memphremagog in 4 hours 12 minutes.

Dietz was previously named to the World’s 50 Most Adventurous Open Water Men list and was nominated for the 2016 World Open Water Swimming Performance of the Year among the following individuals:

1. Toshio Tominaga (Japan) Tsugaru Channel Crossing
2. Craig Dietz (Kingdom Swim Marathon Swim)
3. Sarah Thomas (USA) Lake Powell Crossing
4. Jennifer Figge (USA) Bermuda Triangle Swim
5. Pieter Christian Jongeneel Anderica (Spain) Double Manhattan Circumnavigation
6. Dan Canta (Romania) Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming
7. Sean Conway (Great Britain) Swim Leg of the World’s Longest Triathlon
8. Hudson Brothers (Great Britain) Into the Maelstrom
9. Cristian Vergara (Chile) Easter Island Circumnavigation
10. Jarrod Poort (Australia) Olympic 10K Marathon Swim
11. Javier Mérida Prieto (Spain) Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming
12. Patrick McKnight (USA) Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming
13. Spyridon Gianniotis (Greece) Olympic 10K Marathon Swim
14. Malvinas/Falklands Islands Challenge by Matías Ola (Argentina) and Jackie Cobell (Great Britain)
15. Stephanie Hopson (USA) English Channel Crossing
16. Carol Schumacher Hayden (USA) Catalina Channel Crossing
17. Vasilly Mosin (Russia) Winter Swimming

To vote for the WOWSA Awards, visit here. Online voting continues until December 31st 2016.

Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top