The Daily News Of Open Water Swimming

To educate, entertain, and enthuse those who venture beyond the shore


Random News

Royalty Meet-up At Royal Brighton Yacht Club

International Marathon Swimming Hall of Famers Yuko Matsuzaki (Japan), Melissa Cunningham (Australia), Jaimie Monahan (USA) and Tamara Bruce (Australia) are shown above at yesterday’s Mentone 10 km where they supported fellow inductees Ned Denison, Sally Minty-Gravett MBE, Forrest Nelson, Trent Grimsey, Jaimie Monahan, and Chloë McCardel.

Photos of Ida Elionsky and Henry Elionsky courtesy of Joanna Langfield.

The Who’s Who of the international marathon swimming community is gathering at the Royal Brighton Yacht Club in Brighton, Australia this weekend for the 2019 International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame induction ceremony. It is the first time the aquatics community is formally inducting its most accomplished in the Southern Hemisphere.

20 inductees in total are in Melbourne to celebrate the induction of luminaries in the sport including Kimberley Chambers (New Zealand, Honor Swimmer), Luciano Cotena (Italy, Honor Administrator), Ana Marcela Cunha (Brazil, Honor Swimmer), Bob Duenkel (USA, Honor Administrator), Ida Elionsky (USA, Honor Swimmer), Pat Gallant-Charette (USA, Honor Swimmer), Thomas Lurz (Germany, Honor Swimmer), Sue Guesdon (Australia, Honor Administrator), and Michelle Macy (USA, Honor Swimmer).

Sue Guesdon is not only being inducted as an Honor Administrator by the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame, but she also received the 2019 Irving Davids-Captain Roger Wheeler Memorial Award by the International Swimming Hall of Fame.

International Swimming Hall of Fame and International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame dual inductee Michael Read is also being honored with the Poseidon Award to go along with his 2009 Irving Davids-Captain Roger Wheeler Memorial Award.

Dale Petranech will be honored again with the 2019 ISHOF Service Award while Christopher Guesdon will receive the Dale Petranech Award for Services to the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

For more details on the accomplishments of these individuals, read the following articles:

* Dale Petranech article is here
* Michael Read article is here
* Christopher Guesdon article is here
* Ida Elionsky article is here
* Ana Marcela Cunha article is here
* Thomas Lurz article is here
* Luciano Cotena article is here
* Michelle Macy article is here
* Sue Guesdon article is here
* Kimberley Chambers article is here
* Bob Duenkel article is here
* Pat Gallant-Charette article is here

The induction ceremonies are being broadcast on Facebook Live here.

Copyright © 2008-2019 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top