The Daily News Of Open Water Swimming

To educate, entertain, and enthuse those who venture beyond the shore


Random News

Matteo Furlan Wins Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli

Photo courtesy of Giorgio Scala, Deep Blue Media, Italy.

The 36 km professional marathon swimming race from the island of Capri to Napoli on the mainland of Italy has a long history – 51 years in all.

But due to this year’s conditions, the 52nd edition was not be started on Capri. Instead, a replacement 16 km triangular course was set up near the shoreline in Napoli on September 3rd.

Matteo Furlan of Italy won the Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli over teammate Andrea Bianchi and Guillermo Bertola of Argentina.

FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix Capri-Napoli Results:
1. Matteo Furlan (ITA) 3:53:37
2. Andrea Bianchi (ITA) 3:53:43
3. Guillermo Bertola (ARG) 3:54:02
4. Evgenji Pop Acev (MKD) 3:54:03
5. Alexander Studzinski (GER) 3:54:03
6. Xavier Desharnais (CAN) 3:58:47
7. Damián Blaum (ARG) 3:58:48
8. Edoardo Stochino(ITA) 3:58:48
9. Matheus Evangelista (BRA) 3:59:06
10. Edouard Lehoux (FRA) 4:03:23
11. Bertrand Venturi (FRA) 4:03:54.00
12. Aleksandar Ilievski (MKD) 4:17:21
13. Matias Diaz Hernandez (ARG) 4:25:29
OTL Aquiles Balaudo (ARG)
OTL Nicolas Seguardo (ARG)
OTL Fernando Dario Ciaramella (ARG)
DNF Gabriele Maria Mento (ITA)

Copyright © 2008-2017 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top