The Daily News Of Open Water Swimming

To educate, entertain, and enthuse those who venture beyond the shore


Random News

Kristof Rasovszky Wins World Junior Open Water Champs

Photo and results courtesy of Hans-Peter Sick of FINA, Hoorn, Netherlands.

In the wake of the 2016 European Open Water Championships, the next generation of open water swimming stars showed off their talents in the same venue in Hoorn, Netherlands at the 2016 FINA World Junior Open Water Championships.

For the first time, 18-19 year old teenagers raced over a 4-loop 10 km course.

Kristof Rasovszky of Hungary swam a strategic race to win gold. “In the middle of [the third] lap, I was able to [create] a gap between me and the others,”, he explained. “It was a hard race and when I noticed in the third lap [that I was able] to swim away from the others, I tried it and [the strategy] was successful.”

Rasovszky finished in 1:53:01.7, nearly a half-minute ahead of Chinese silver medalist Zhongyi Qiao (1:53:32.0) and Italian bronze medalist Andrea Manzi (1:53:36.9).

18-19 Boys 10 km Marathon Swim Results:
1. Kristof Rasovszky (HUN) 1:53:01.7

2. Zhongyi Qiao (CHN) 1:53:32.0

3. Andrea Manzi (ITA) 1:53:36.9

4. Thore Bermel (GER) 1:53:44.0

5. Kirill Belyaev (RUS) 1:54:08.0

6. Kai Edwards (AUS) 1:54:08.5

7. Matan Roditi (ISR) 1:54:08.8

8. Tamas Novoszath (HUN) 1:54:16.6

9. Riley Molina (USA) 1:54:18.0

10. Duje Milan (CRO) 1:54:19.4

11. Victor Johansson (SWE) 1:54:21.2

12. Gustavo Gutierrez Lozano (PER) 1:54:24.4

13. Lars Bottelier (NED) 1:55:32.2

14. Gustav Swedenborg (SWE) 1:56:00.9

15. Diogo Marques (POR) 1:56:01.1

16. Pablo Armijos Cordero (ECU) 1:56:05.6

17. Asterios Daldogiannis (GRE) 1:56:10.4

18. Ivan Sitic (CRO) 1:56:10.8

19. Dimitrios Negris (GRE) 1:57:39.1

20. Aleksandr Astapov (RUS) 1:58:01.8

21. Guillem Pujol (ESP) 1:58:10.8

22. Pierandrea Titta (ITA) 1:58:13.2

23. Moritz Bartels (GER) 1:58:38.8

24. Tom Millburn (GBR) 1:58:56.1

25. Jiri Landsman (CZE) 2:00:03.0

26. Farouk Noureldin (EGY) 2:01:54.4

27. Edouard Belanger (CAN) 2:03:33.1

28. Matthew Scott (NZL) 2:05:41.1

29. P.F. Canduelas Nasimento (PER) 2:09:35.8

30. Aboubakr Youssef (EGY) 2:09:35.9

DNF Haithem Mbarki (TUN)

DNF Afonso Queiroca (POR)

DNF Vincent Laperle (CAN)

DNF Brahian Perdomo (URU)

DNF Guillermo Fernandez (URU)

DNF Taylor Abbott (USA)

Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top