The Daily News Of Open Water Swimming

To educate, entertain, and enthuse those who venture beyond the shore


Random News

Glen S Hummer Award Renamed By USA Swimming

Glen S Hummer Award Renamed By USA Swimming

Courtesy of USA Swimming, Colorado Springs.

2018 United States Aquatic Sports Annual Convention is currently being held in Jacksonville, Florida where several awards will be given.

Among the honors is the Open Water Achievement Award, previously named the Glen S. Hummer Award that was established in 1978. This award is given annually to the person or group that make the greatest contribution to open water swimming in the United States.

The award is originally named for Coach Hummer, a renowned Olympian and swimming coach and has been given to the following individuals:

1978 Glen S. Hummer and Cliff Brown
1979 Don Watson and Betty Talbot
1980 La Jolla Town Council and Swim Swim Magazine
1981 Neal & Sue Shepard
1982 Huntington (Indiana) YMCA Booster Club
1983 Buck Dawson
1984 Luke (Mac) Tesky
1985 Penny Lee Dean
1986 Dale Petranech
1987 Keith Barnes
1988 Dottie York
1989 George Haines
1990 Jimi Flowers
1991 Wilton (Connecticut) YMCA Wahoos
1992 Rick Walker
1993 James Whelan
1994 Jennifer Parks and Gail Dummer
1995 International Swimming Hall of Fame
1996 Sid Cassidy
1997 Bob Duenkel
1998 Dianne Limerick
1998 Dave Thomas
2000 Brian Schrader
2001 George Bare and Jacqueline Grossman
2002 Denny Ryther
2003 Dr. Dr. Jim Miller
2004 Julie Bare
2005 Open Water Swimming FINA World Championships Team Staff: Rick Walker, Steven Munatones, Denny Ryther, Mike Schrader, Catherine Vogt, Jeremy Vail, Dr. Jim Miller
2006 Greg Cross
2007 Steven Munatones
2008 Bill Rose
2009 Jay Thomas
2010 Shannon Gillespy
2011 Maddy Crippen
2012 Paul Asmuth and Tim Murphy
2013 Catherine Vogt
2014 Gregg Cross
2015 Open Water Swimming FINA World Championships Team Staff: Catherine Vogt, Dave Kelsheimer, Dr. Josh White, Eric Posegay, Laurel Liberty, Bryce Elser

2016 Catherine Vogt
2017 Athletes from the World University Games: Taylor Abbott, Katy Campbell, David Heron, Becca Mann

Copyright © 2008 – 2018 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top