The Daily News Of Open Water Swimming

To educate, entertain, and enthuse those who venture beyond the shore


Random News

2017 Marathon Swimmers Federation Award Nominees

Courtesy of Marathon Swimmers Federation.

Evan Morrison announced the nominees for the sixth annual MSF Global Marathon Swimming Awards that recognizes the most outstanding achievements and contributions in solo marathon swimming. The awards are nominated and voted by members of the Marathon Swimmers Forum.

The nominees for the four different awards are as follows:

1. Solo Swim of the Year:
* Daniel Abel (New Zealand) for his circumnavigation swim around Rarotonga, Cook Islands
* Caroline Block (USA) for her 28-hour North Channel swim
* Catherine Breed (USA) for her Lake Tahoe crossing
* Sarah Thomas (USA) for her 168.3 km Lake Champlain swim

2. Barra Award for Most Prolific Overall Year (Man + Woman)*:
* Amy Appelhans Gubser (USA)
* John Batchelder (USA)
* Abigail Fairman (USA)
* Sandra Frimerman-Bergquist (USA)
* Jaimie Monahan (USA)
* Lynton Mortensen (Australia)
* Courtney Paulk (USA)
* Stephen Rouch (USA)

3. Streeter Award for Service to Marathon Swimming:
* Tom Linthicum (USA) and Dave Van Mouwerik (USA) for supporting, piloting, and compiling historical documentation of Lake Tahoe crossings
* Andrew Malinak (USA) for co-founding and leading the Northwest Open Water Swimming Association and for piloting Sarah Thomas’s record Lake Champlain swim
* Greg O’Connor (USA) and Elaine Kornbau Howley (USA) for co-directing the Boston Light Swim and co-founding the Massachusetts Open Water Swimming Association
* Mark Sheridan (UK) for serving as president of the British Long Distance Swimming Association
* Scott Zornig (USA) for developing and leading the Santa Barbara Channel Swimming Association

4. Yudovin Award for Most Adventurous Swim:
* Sydne Didier (USA) for her swim around Isla Culebra, Puerto Rico
* Karl Kingery (USA) for his swim across Yellowstone Lake, Wyoming
* Brian Lanahan (USA) for his swim around James Island, South Carolina
* Jaimie Monahan for her cross-border swim across Lago Maggiore, Italy and Switzerland

* David Barra shown above in the midst of his prolific year of marathon swimming in 2010.

Copyright © 2008-2017 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top