The Daily News Of Open Water Swimming

To educate, entertain, and enthuse those who venture beyond the shore


Random News

Representing Australia At World Lifesaving Championships

Courtesy of Australian Life Saving.

Australia’s first volunteer Surf Life Saving clubs began in 1907 in Sydney. Between 1902 and 1905 the laws that prevented swimming in daylight hours since the 1830s were gradually removed in a societal transformation that reflected changing public attitudes.

These changes had a dramatic impact: the number of beachgoers, ocean swimmers, drownings and attempted rescues suddenly increased.

On October 18th 1907, representatives from Sydney Surf Life Saving Clubs, together with members of other interested groups, met to form the Surf Bathing Association of New South Wales, the organisation which is now known as Surf Life Saving Australia.

Supported by the Australian Sports Commission and in partnership with Royal Life Saving Society Australia, the athletes below will represent Australia who will compete in the biennial World Lifesaving Championships and other national team competitions. The Australian Life Saving Team Squad includes the following athletes:

* Sam Bell, Maroochydore
* Matt Bevilacqua, Kurrawa
* Keelan Bridge, Bronte and The Hills
* Josh Brown, Currumbin
* Harriet Brown, BMD Northcliffe
* Alyssa Bull, Alexandra Headland
* Ben Carberry, Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park
* Daniel Collins, Redhead
* Luke Cuff, Mermaid Beach
* Prue Davies, Currumbin and Queensland RLS
* Matt Davis, Currumbin
* Ali Day, Surfers Paradise
* Blake Drysdale, Newport
* Maddy Dunn, BMD Northcliffe
* Rachel Eddy, Kurrawa and Queensland RLS
* Riley Fitzsimmons, Avoca Beach
* Elizabeth Forsyth, Currumbin
* Ethan Garland, North Cronulla and Port Hacking
* Chelsea Gillett, Maroochydore and Brisbane Lifesaving Squad
* Kieran Gordon, Currumbin
* Nikolas Green, BMD Northcliffe
* Ngaire Hadfield, Cronulla
* Pamela Hendry, Maroochydore
* Samantha Howe, Point Leo
* Mariah Jones, Tweed Heads & Coolangatta and Queensland RLS
* Nicole Kay, Kurrawa
* Alyssa Koenan, BMD Northcliffe
* Amy Levings, BMD Northcliffe
* Kendrick Louis, Manly
* Callum Lowe-Griffiths, Kurrawa
* Jake Lynch, Newport
* Bree Masters, Kurrawa
* Jordan Mercer, Noosa Heads
* Georgia Miller, Newport
* Hannah Minogue, Newport
* Tom Montgomery Currumbin
* Thomas Nolan, North Cottesloe
* Matt Poole, Kurrawa
* Tim Schofield Terrigal and The Hills
* Jemma Smith, Umina and The Hills
* Jake Smith, Trigg Island
* Jackson Symonds, Sorrento (WA)
* Mitchell Trim, Newport
* Lizzie Welborn, North Bondi
* Hayden White, Currumbin
* Rachel Wood, Umina and The Hills
* Brad Woodward, Shelly Beach and The Hills

For more information, visit here.

Copyright © 2008-2018 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top