Olga Kozydub Shines Between Two Stars In Cozumel


A week after the 10K marathoners visit Cozumel on the Yucatan Peninsula in Mexico, the ultra-marathoners fly in and compete in the most beautiful and shortest leg on the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix pro circuit.

Young Olga Kozydub of Russia is just barely hanging on to a slim series lead over the two women who have dominated the pro circuit over the past 3 years: Esther Nuñez (winner in 2012) and Pilar Geijo (winner in 2010 and 2011).

Unlike the other ultra-marathon races on the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix pro circuit, the men and women are started separately in Cozumel. This means that the competition will be truly head-to-head with Kozydub, Nuñez, and Geijo going stroke-for-stroke throughout the entire 15 km course.

1. Olga Kozydub (RUS) 35
2. Esther Nuñez (ESP) 33
3. Pilar Geijo (ARG) 25
4. Karla Sitic (CRO) 18
5. Antonella Bogarin (ARG) 14
6. Silvie Rybarova (CZE) 11
6. Noelia Petti (ARG) 11
8. Lexie Kelly (USA) 10
9. Rita Vanesa Garcia (ARG) 9
10. Paola Perez (VEN) 7
11. Vicenia Navarro (VEN) 6
12. Imwinelried Romina (ARG) 4
13. Daniella Moretto (ARG) 3
14. Ayelen Fernandez (ARG) 2
15. Mariana Mello (BRA) 2

Copyright © 2013 by Open Water Swimming

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *